Lawson, Phaup named Honorable Mention All-Independent

Lawson, Phaup named Honorable Mention All-Independent

GEORGETOWN, Texas — Sweet Briar sophomore Victoria Lawson and senior Elizabeth Phaup were recognized on Tuesday as Honorable Mention All-Independent Women's Lacrosse, as voted on by the nine head coaches in the independent organization.

Lawson (Shipman, Va.) led the Vixens with 21 goals, 19 ground balls and 24 draw controls on the season, while becoming the first Vixen to score 18 or more goals in a season since the 2015 season. Lawson scored in eight of the Vixens' 10 games in 2018 and notched multiple goals on seven occasions, including a pair of four goal showings.

Phaup (Amherst, Va.) was second on the Vixens' roster in many statistical categories with 11 goals, 10 ground balls and 19 draw controls, however the midfielder was the team leader with 13 caused turnovers and tied for the team lead with one assist on the season. During the 2018 season, Phaup tallied goals in six games, while scoring twice in five outings. In the defensive third, Phaup recorded a season-high seven caused turnovers in a one-goal loss at Salem.

Phaup and Lawson become the first-ever Vixens to earn recognition from the IWLS, while becoming the first Sweet Briar lacrosse student-athletes to earn postseason recognition for their performance on the field since the 2015 season when Allison McLamb and Reba Gagne were named All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference Third Team.

The Independent Women's Lacrosse Schools is comprised of: Colorado College, D'Youville, Franciscan, Hollins, Southwestern (Texas), SUNY-Canton, Sweet Briar, Dallas and Northwestern-St. Paul.