Eight Student-Athletes Named To 2016-17 ODAC Sportsmanship Teams

Eight Student-Athletes Named To  2016-17 ODAC Sportsmanship Teams

The Old Dominion Athletic Conference has announced it's 2016-17 Sportsmanship Teams and eight Sweet Briar student-athletes have been selected to the team for their respective sport. The squads are comprised of a student-athlete selected by the coaching staffs of each team competing under the banner with all sports and schools fully represented.

"I am pleased that the conference recognizes student-athletes for their focus on fair play and sportsmanship," explained ODAC Commissioner Brad Bankston. "The conference prides itself on positive sportsmanship and encouraging student-athletes to lead by example. Each one of the honorees has been selected by the coaches in recognition of their conduct in the arena. My hat is off to these student-athletes - thanking them for the example they set for all of us."

The ODAC has a rich tradition in promoting fair play and good sportsmanship in each sport across the league. The character of the conference's student-athletes on and off the field is a representation of not only the individuals and teams, but also the institutions they play for.

Below is a list of each Sweet Briar student-athlete that was named to a 2016-17 Sportsmanship Team. Click here to view all 240 student-athletes that have been recognized. 


Claire Zak- Cross Country

Courtney Barry- Equestrian

Amanda Terry- Field Hockey

Rebecca Parrish- Golf

Ashton Reid- Soccer

Mary Kate Bailey- Softball

Caroline Thomas- Swimming

AJ Lukanuski- Tennis